TAHA
TAHA-1
TAHA-2
TAHA-3

With this small pencil, I will write the word…

TAHA

With this small pencil

I will draw the word

I will write the world."

 

A lyrical story of the life of Palestinian poet Taha Muhammad Ali, written and performed by Amer Hlehel. Directed by Amir Nizar Zuabi, who also directed AZZA and is founder of celebrated theatre company ShiberHur.

Performed in English

 

Taha Muhammad Ali is the beautiful optimistic picture of the Palestinian people – of all of us. In his beloved verses, Taha documents hopeful survival after 50 years of loss – loss of his home, his lover, his friends and his shop in Saffuriyeh in Galilee.

Adapted from Adina Hoffman's book My Happiness Bears No Relation to Happiness and based on the poet’s works, writer-performer Amer Hlehel has created a tour de force solo performance interweaving Taha’s singular and exquisite poetry with his compelling life journey.

 

Written and Performed by: Amer Hlehel

Translated and Directed by Amir Zizar Zubai

Design: Ashraf Hanna Music: Habib Shehadeh Hanna Lighting: Muaz Jubeh Production Manager: Khawla Ibraheem

 

 

13930 Arabic text_outlines

 

 

AUSTRALIAN TOUR DATES AND PERFORMANCE TIMES

 

Adelaide Festival

Thursday 15 March at 1:00pm – performed in English

Friday 16 March at 6:00pm – performed in English

Sunday 18 March at 3:30pm – performed in English

 

Shoalhaven Entertainment Centre, Nowra

Tuesday 20 March at 8pm – performed in English

 

Illawarra Performing Arts Centre, Wollongong

Wednesday 21 March at 7:30pm – performed in English

Thursday 22 March at 6:30pm – performed in English, plus post Show Q&A

Friday 23 March at 7:30pm – performed in English

Saturday 24 March at 1:30pm – performed in English

Saturday 24 March at 7:30pm – performed in English

Sunday 25 March at 5pm – performed in Arabic

 

Riverside Theatres, Parramatta

Tuesday 27 March at 8pm (performed in English)
Wednesday 28 March at 8pm (performed in Arabic)