12 Angry Men 1
12 Angry Men 2

12 Angry Men (UK / Aust)

All-Star Australian Cast

Directed by Guy Masterson

Arts Projects Australia and Adrian Bohm present:

Guy Masterson’s award winning production of 12 Angry Men returns with an all-star Australian cast for an eight-week tour of Brisbane, Sydney and Melbourne. The Australian cast reads like a who's who of Australian theatre and television - Aaron Blabey, Shane Bourne, Russell Fletcher, Peter Flett, Marcus Graham, George Kapiniaris, Rob Meldrum, Alex Menglet, Nicholas Papademetriou, Peter Phelps, Richard Piper and Henri Szeps. 

Masterson’s original international production was a smash hit at the Perth International Arts Festival, Adelaide Bank 2004 Festival of Arts and New Zealand International Festival of Arts, paying homage to the 1957 film version, which starred Henry Fonda and Lee J Cobb. Set in New York in the summer of 1957, a delinquent awaits sentencing for the manslaughter of his aggressive father. One juror feels that there is a ‘reasonable doubt’ - to the frustration of his eleven colleagues - thus preventing a quick verdict. During the heated deliberations, the hidden preconceptions and assumptions of the jurors are revealed. In a work of brilliantly balanced tension, when faced with playing the hangman, each juror is forced to face himself.